If you have doubt that one of your contacts has blocked your phone number? To be sure, read this article till the end.

Thanks to smartphones, it has become very easy to block calls. Many people use this feature to avoid being constantly disturbed by telemarketers, pollsters and other call centers.

But what if you are the one whose number was blocked? How do I know if someone has blocked your phone number?

What happens when you call someone who has blocked you?

In order to answer this question, we did a very simple test.

We blocked the same number on an Android smartphone and an iPhone, and then we called these phones from the blocked number. Result?

When your phone number has been blocked on an Android smartphone, you will hear two rings before being redirected to the recipient’s mailbox. The latter does not receive an alert of your call. On the other hand, if you leave him a message, he will receive an SMS alert of his voicemail.

When your phone number has been blocked on an iPhone, you will hear a ring tone before being redirected to the recipient’s mailbox. The latter does not receive an alert of your call and unlike an Android smartphone, if you leave him a message, he will not receive SMS alert. The voice message will be automatically saved in the “blocked messages” folder of the iPhone.

Before concluding that your number has been blocked, note that you can get the same results (one or two rings and then voicemail) if your recipient picks up badly or if his cellphone goes out. To really know if your number has been blocked, read on.

Take a detour & call to unknown

To rule out the possibility that the person you want to join has just turned off his phone, you can call him back immediately in a hidden number.

To make a hidden number call on iPhone, go to Settings → Phone → Show my number .

On an Android, Go to the Phone app and tap the three vertical dots at the top right of the screen and click Settings → Calls → More Settings → Caller ID → Hide Number .

Smartphones can not block unknown numbers. For example, if you make two calls, one with your unknown number, and the second call does not automatically redirect you to the mailbox, your recipient may have blocked your number.

What happens when you send an SMS to someone who has blocked you?

In short, nothing. When you send a text message to someone who has blocked your phone number, you do not receive an alert to tell you that the message has not been sent, and your recipient does not receive your message.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here