Instagram (IG) is one of the most popular social media in the world. However, there are times when we want to deactivate our IG account temporarily or permanently for various reasons.
For example, we want to save internet quota, reduce distractions, or maintain privacy. Whatever the reason, here is how to deactivate IG easily and quickly.
Here are 2 Ways to Deactivate Instagram
How to Temporarily Deactivate IG
If we only want to deactivate IG temporarily, we can do it in the following way:
- Open the IG app on your phone or the IG website on your computer.
- Log in to the IG account you want to deactivate.
- Click the profile icon in the bottom right (for phones) or top right (for computers) corner.
- Click the three lines icon in the top right corner and select “Settings”.
- Select “Edit Profile” and scroll down until you find the “Temporarily deactivate my account” option.
- Click the option and select the reason why you want to deactivate the account.
- Re-enter your IG password and click “Deactivate Account”.
After that, our IG account will be temporarily deactivated and will not be visible to other users. We can reactivate our IG account at any time by logging into the account.
How to Deactivate Instagram Permanently
If we want to deactivate IG permanently, we have to delete our IG account permanently. How to permanently delete an IG account is as follows:
- Open the website on your computer or mobile phone.
- Log in to the IG account you want to delete.
- Select the reason why you want to delete your account from the drop-down menu.
- Re-enter your IG password and click “Permanently Delete My Account”.
After that, our IG account will be permanently deleted and cannot be restored. All photos, videos, messages and other data associated with the account will also be deleted. Therefore, we should consider carefully before permanently deleting an IG account.
That’s the article on how to deactivate IG temporarily or permanently. Hopefully this article is useful for those of you who want to take a break from social media or erase your digital traces.