How to Prevent Members from Editing Group Details

ExpressVPN Banner

By default, WhatsApp allows each group member to edit the group name, description, and display image. But admins can prevent anyone from updating these details without their consent.

How to Prevent Members from Editing Group Details
How to Prevent Members from Editing Group Details

How to Prevent Members from Editing Group Details

To set this up is very easy. Here’s how to prevent members from editing WhatsApp group details:

  1. Open the WhatsApp application on the iPhone or Android
  2. Open the WhatsApp group that you want to set
  3. Tap the group name at the top to enter Group Info
  4. Tap Group Settings
  5. Tap Edit Group Info
  6. There will be two options that appear, select Only Admin

After that only admins can edit group information and profile pictures in groups. As soon as the admin applies this change, WhatsApp will notify group members about it by displaying a note in the conversation.

To restore the original settings, the admin can return to the “Group Settings” menu and select the “All Participants” option in “Edit Group Info”.

Still in Group Settings, admins can revoke members’ ability to send messages in group chats. This option can be used when you want to broadcast important announcements and don’t want to be buried under a flood of other chats.

You do this by pressing the “Send Messages” option in the Settings Group. Then select “Only Admin”. Hope it is useful.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.