How To Restore Files From Time Machine

A simple guide to Restore Files From Time Machine, excluding some files, or entire folders, from the backup process.

How To Restore Files From Time Machine
How To Restore Files From Time Machine

How To Restore Files From Time Machine

Thanks to the Backup Time Machine application present on every Mac, you can easily restore your operating system in a few simple steps, without having to install everything manually after formatting or, perhaps, after a device change.

If you are about to go on vacation or you have to leave for a trip and the backup times are exaggerated you may even decide to leave some archives that you have already copied for a long time out of the backup.

Through Time Machine it is possible to backup 1 to 1 of your Mac or a selective backup, eliminating files or entire folders from the automatic backup performed by the application. The guide, which follows is taken from the pages of idownloadblog.

Deleting files or entire folders from Time Machine backup is extremely simple, safe and, above all, reversible.

To start making a selective backup, simply open the System Preferences panel and then click on the Time Machine hub. From here, you need to click on the options button at the bottom right, so that you can exclude files or folders from the backup that the application carries out automatically.

And in fact, the options window allows you to add exceptions to the backup, simply by clicking on the “+” button at the bottom of the window. It will open the finder of your Mac, being able to select files or folders present inside your HDD.

Each file, or selected folder, and added to this particular list, will be excluded from the automatic backup. After choosing all the folders or files to be deleted from the backup, you need to click Save.

Depending on the files and folders excluded from the backup, the estimated size of the backup will change in real time; the more folders will be excluded from the backup, the smaller the space occupied by the backup will be.

Vice versa, by clicking on the “-” button it will be possible to delete folders and files previously excluded from the automatic backup.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.