If you need to log out of your Netflix account from a smart TV, be aware that the process is not as simple as it sounds, but with our step-by-step steps, things just got easier.
You can log into Netflix from multiple devices, so you can share your subscription with friends and family. However, if you no longer want to share your account, have exhausted your devices, or are switching TVs, here we will teach you how to disconnect your Netflix account from your Smart TV.
2 methods to disconnect your Netflix account from your smart TV
If you’re going to sell or donate your old Smart TV that’s logged into your Netflix account, and you want to remove the account from the device, it can be a little tricky.
Until a while ago, Netflix allowed you to manage devices online in your Netflix account. But currently, the company has disabled this feature. Now, if you want to remove a device from your account, you must disable ALL devices and add them again one by one.
This can be annoying if you have your account connected across multiple devices, such as smartphones, computers, consoles and Smart TVs, and even more so if you share your Netflix account with other people, and their devices.
But there is a way to logout your Netflix account from Smart TV from the device itself, with a simple step by step and remote control. To disable the device, access the Netflix screen on your TV and then perform the following steps:
On the Netflix home page on your TV, use the arrow keys on the remote, entering the following sequence:
Up, Up, Down, Down, Left, Right, Left, Right, Up, Up, Up, Up.
This should take you to a Netflix system information screen with the option “Logout”. Click this option to remove your Netflix account from Smart TV.
The selected device will be removed from Netflix, and you will receive a green on-screen confirmation message informing you that the action has been completed.
All downloads on the device will be removed, and the device will no longer have download permissions in the future unless it is added again.
Exit all devices
Fortunately, Netflix makes it easy to disconnect devices you’ll no longer use with your account. It can take up to eight hours for the device to disconnect – This is not immediate.
You cannot disable one device at a time. If you follow the steps below, you will have to log in again on each of the connected devices.
How to log off Netflix from all devices
First, you need to go to http://netflix.com on a computer via web browser and login. Mouse over your profile picture (or the green icon if you haven’t defined a profile picture) and click ” Your Account ” in the drop-down menu.
Once opened, select “Exit All Devices” in the “Settings” section.
You will then be asked to confirm your choice, click “Exit”.
Once logged out, you can start logging back into devices using Netflix without worrying about lost logins.
As mentioned earlier, the process can take up to eight hours to complete. Unfortunately, Netflix doesn’t have the option to remove just one device. You can still review which devices are connected to your account, but you cannot disconnect them individually.