How to delete Locations on Google Maps Easily

Delete Locations on Google Maps: Google Maps is one of the most popular and widely used Google products throughout the world. This digital map application is very helpful for people in finding a location that they want to go. Even over time, Google Maps continues to experience growth with the addition of new features.

How to delete Locations on Google Maps Easily
How to delete Locations on Google Maps Easily

Besides being free, the data displayed by Google Maps is also quite complete. With ongoing updates, this application is truly reliable. Finding roads, tourist attractions, restaurants, government buildings, shops, rivers, mountains, beaches, etc. can be done easily on Google Maps.

Generally the data that is on Google Maps is the result of mapping by Google Maps itself. But this digital map application also allows users to add new locations manually, either through the Google Maps mobile application or the Google Maps website.
Of course, Google Maps will not immediately approve every user request. Only after the review process is complete, Google Maps will approve new locations deemed appropriate.
Then can a location on Google Maps be deleted? Of course, I can. You can follow the following methods for deleting a location on Google Maps or marking it permanently closed.

How to Delete Locations on Google Maps

If you have a location on Google My Business but don’t want to manage it anymore, you can delete it from your account.
Deleting a location on Google Maps can only be done on the Google My Business website. And keep in mind that a location that has been deleted cannot be restored.

Following are the steps to delete a location from Google Maps.

Method 1 (one location)

  • Open a browser on your computer then log in to Google My Business (type Google My Business in search).
  • On the menu on the left, click Info .
  • Then look for the Close or remove this listing section .
  • Then choose Remove listing Remove .

Method 2 (many locations)

  • Open a browser on your computer then log in to Google My Business (type Google My Business in search).
  • From the location list, select one or more locations that you want to delete.
  • Then click Actions> Remove locations> Remove .
  • If you delete multiple locations and experience errors, the locations must be deleted one at a time.

The two methods above were written by Google on their support page. Google also mentions that deleted locations will no longer be able to be managed, but will continue to appear on Google.

For the third method, this has been tried directly by the author and the location that was deleted was no longer found on Google (Google Maps and Google Search). Here are the steps.

Method 3

  • Open a browser on your computer then log in to Google My Business (type Google My Business in search).
  • In the menu on the left, look for the Manage locations section at the bottom.
  • On the new page that appears, select the location that you want to delete.
  • Then click the Actions button on the right.
  • Then select Remove location in the drop down menu that appears.

Well, those are some methods of deleting locations that can be done easily through the Google My Business website. Be sure to delete locations that you really don’t want to manage anymore so that you don’t regret it later.

Next you have to start over if you want to open a new location to manage.

How to Mark a Close Location on Google Maps

If the location that you manage is temporarily closed or will forever no longer operate, you can mark the location as ” Permanently closed” or ” Permanently closed” without needing to delete it.

If you already have the rights to manage your location, you can do this step in your Google My Business account, either through the web or applications on Android and iPhone. Here are the steps to do it.

Method 1 (Google My Business web)

  • Open a browser on your computer then log in to Google My Business (type Google My Business in search).
  • On the menu on the left, click Info .
  • Then look for the Close or remove this listing section .
  • Then select Mark as permanently closed> OK .

After completion, the profile will appear with a ” Permanently closed” sign on Google Maps and Google Search. Follow the steps below if you have many locations or want to mark many locations at once.

  • Open a browser on your computer then log in to Google My Business (type Google My Business in search).
  • From the location list, select all locations that you want to mark permanently closed.
  • Then click the Actions button on the right.
  • Then select Permanently closes  in the drop down menu that appears and click Mark permanently closed in the dialog box that appears.

Method 2 (Google My Business Android)

  • Open the Google My Business app that is installed on your Android device.
  • At the bottom, tap Profile> View all .
  • Then tap Mark as permanently closed> OK .

If you have a lot of locations, just go to the location that you want to mark permanently closed.

Method 3 (Google My Business on iPhone and iPad).

  • Open the Google My Business app that is already installed on your iPhone or iPad device.
  • At the bottom, tap Profile> View all .
  • Then tap Mark as permanently closed> Yes> Save .

If you have a lot of locations, just go to the location that you want to mark permanently closed.

Method 4 (for locations that are reported closed)

Some Google Maps users might find and report that the location they are visiting is closed. If the location you manage gets notifications like this, all you have to do is confirm your Google My Business account. But make sure that the notification is not a mistake.

If a location is accidentally marked as permanently closed, you can still take action to reopen the location by following these steps.

Computer

  • Open a browser on your computer then log in to Google My Business (type Google My Business in search).
  • Click Info on the menu on the left.
  • Under “Reopen or remove this profile,” click Reopen this listing .

Android

  • Open the Google My Business app that is installed on your Android device.
  • At the bottom, tap Profile> View all> Reopen this listing.

iPhone and iPad

  • Open the Google My Business app that is already installed on your iPhone or iPad device.
  • At the bottom, tap Profile> View all.
  • Under “View all,” tap Permanently closed> No> Save.

For users (without management rights) who find locations that never existed, are not eligible to appear on Google (Google Maps and Google Search), or show the wrong address, they can make a request to Google to remove these locations from Google Maps. Here are the steps.

  • Open the Google Maps website in a browser on a computer.
  • Find the location you want to report.
  • Click Suggest and edit.
  • Then mark the location “Place is permanently closed or has never existed” and select the right reason.
  • Click Submit .

Google will then review the suggestion and the reporter may receive an email regarding the status of the request and question from the review team, if any. If approved, the suggested location will be deleted from Google Maps.

Well, that’s how to delete a location from Google Maps, either through Google My Business services for managed locations or directly from the Google Maps website for unmanaged locations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *