Do you need to rest and disconnect from Instagram? These are the simple steps you must follow to delete your Instagram account permanently.
How can I delete my Instagram account?
It is important that you are completely sure of this decision since it is not reversible.
We have spent 12 years sharing our lives on Instagram, the undisputed queen of social networks, popular among the youngest, and an application that bills more than 47,000 million US dollars a year, according to data from Estatista.
And although it is an extremely useful application to spread content about oneself or follow what interests us (recipes, guides, current information), it has also become an extremely addictive social network.
It is not uncommon for celebrities and personalities who have millions of followers on the app to take a break and decide to temporarily deactivate it : this is the case of Bella Hadid, Selena Gomez, Justin Bieber, Bibi Gaytan or Kendall Jenner, among many others.
Some have even disappeared from the app forever, such as Pete Davidson (former partner of Ariana Grande and Kim Kardashian), Elizabeth Olsen (our beloved Scarlet Witch ) and Kanye West (the latter was expelled from the app for making comments antisemites).
Whatever the case, many of us decide to temporarily or permanently take a break from Instagram, either because we come to understand that we do not make good use of social networks; or, well because we have tired of seeing how perfect the lives of others are.
How to delete my Instagram account forever?
To permanently delete your Instagram profile, you can do it directly from the application or from the web. We show you both methods:
From the mobile app
Open the application and go to the SETTINGS section . Then, click on ACCOUNT and scroll until you find the last option: DELETE ACCOUNT .
When clicked, Instagram suggests two options: DEACTIVATE YOUR ACCOUNT (a temporary function where the social profile and all its content are hidden) and the option to DELETE ACCOUNT permanently (you cannot go back).
By clicking on delete account, the app tells us that we can recover the account if we enter the account in the next 30 days . In the same section, the app directs us to a page where we must choose the reason why we want to delete our account.
After choosing the answer that best corresponds to your decision, continue with the elimination.
In the final step to permanently delete your account, Instagram will ask you for the password. This is for security purposes (if you don’t know your password, create a new one from scratch ). When you click on the ACCEPT button , the session will be closed and your account will be deleted.
From the web portal
To delete your Instagram account from your computer or laptop , open your browser and access the following link: https://www.instagram.com/accounts/remove/request/permanent/. Then log in , select the reason you want to deactivate the account, enter the password and click the red Delete my account button. Click OK and you’re done.
If after 30 days you do not log in, your profile will be permanently deleted from Instagram. That is, all data related to it will be deleted: including comments, likes, friendships, photos and videos.
Remember that there is no way to recover after 30 days. You must be very clear that this is a definitive and non-reversible action.